Balloch to Clydebank half marathon 2016

IMG_20160312_215526

The first of my London Marathon build up races was the Balloch to Clydebank half marathon. This is a race I had previously run two times and one which I enjoy. It’s a race that comes early in the year so it can be a bit hit or miss with the weather but I was feeling confident if the weather co-operated I would be on for a good run as my marathon training was going well and I was feeling strong and confident in the lead up to the race, I knew the course and was looking forward to having a go at the goal of a Sub 1:30 half marathon.

I woke on the morning to almost perfect conditions to run in, it was cool and overcast with little or no wind and I knew at that very moment I would be on for a PB today. One of the advantages of racing fairly frequently is that the pre-race routine becomes habit and you know what works for you. So I stuck to my usual breakfast of porridge and cup of tea then got my kit together and headed over to Clydebank. As this is a point to point race there are busses for the runners from the finish at the Playdrome in Clydebank to the start at Loch Lomond shores in Balloch. Everything went smoothly with the busses and on the journey to the start I sat on the bus with a calm confidence. Once I arrived at Lomond shores I met up with a few of the other guys from the club who were running in the race so we all headed off for a warm up close to the start line. On the way over we met Gemma from the club who would win the women’s race in a time of 1:18:12.

Before long it was time to start, for this year’s race there was a few changes to the course with it using more of the cycle path next to the river virtually from the start as opposed to the main roads through Alexandria. This was a nice change in terms of the scenery and running location however the first couple of corners and nearly the whole first mile it was really tight as the field had not had the time to spread out on the open road before switching to the narrow cycle path with little to no opportunity to overtake. Once we got through the first mile things had settled a bit and it was easier to fall in to goal pace for the race and not get caught in the slow, fast, slow fast pace changes of weaving your way through other runners. My aim for the race was to try and run at 6:40-6:50 per mile pace which I managed to stick to quite accurately.

For the first 6 miles I was running with Ryan from the club just ahead of me, my plan was to follow him as closely as possible hoping he could tow me to the finish as he is faster than me. However just after 6 miles I overtook him and it gave me a massive confidence boost (It turns out Ryan was having an off day due to a virus) Around this point we were also joined by Chris from the club and we tried to work as a trio but Chris and I pulled away from Ryan.

Chris and I worked well together along the cycle path and through Old Kilpatrick and in to Bowling we were still together taking a good share of turns at the front. Chris is in training for the Manchester marathon and has also been running really strong at club nights. At mile 11 I tried to up the pace a bit to target a PB and to get a bit of a gap on Chris as there were precious club league points up for grabs turning it in to a race within a race! Euan was away ahead up the road for the top point’s prize but it was still close between Chris and myself for the 2nd and 3rd male home from the club.

I think I opened up a slight gap for a short period but in the industrial estate within the last mile Chris appeared on my shoulder again and then not long after overtook me, I tried to follow him but the legs couldn’t co-operate and speed up when I tried to ask them to. In myself I do know that one of my weaknesses is that I don’t really have a sprint finish so that is something I need to work on. Chris headed up the road to finish with a new PB of 1:27:30 and in 87th position. I came in not far behind in 92nd position and also a new PB by over 5 minutes with a time of 1:27:44!

IMG_20160313_201144

So in my first half marathon of the year I achieved one of the 3 goals I set myself at the start of the year. I am now officially a member of the Sub 90 minute half marathon club. This has given me a massive confidence boost in my training for the London Marathon and it’s thanks to all at Kilbarchan AAC for their help and support and a little bit of hard work from myself!

Strava Balloch to Clydebank 2016

One thought on “Balloch to Clydebank half marathon 2016

  1. Pingback: London Marathon 2016 | Trimm Dich blog

Leave a comment